NASA Intern and Fellow Opportunities for International Students

  • NASA
  • Washington, DC, United States
  • Jan 19, 2018
Internship Computer Science Engineering Health Science Life Science Mathematics Medical Sciences Physics Technology

Description

Non-U.S. interns (university undergraduate level student) or fellows (university graduate level student) selected to participate in the NASA I2 Program will be part of a broad group of U.S. and foreign interns or fellows. This Program will provide opportunities for interaction among the group, both in the laboratory and in more informal settings.

Internship sessions are arranged in three sessions during the calendar year (Spring, Summer, and Fall). Non-U.S. interns or fellows must participate during the same session as their U.S. counterparts in order to have a truly collaborative and integrated environment.

Current Participating Countries with Agreements: 

  • Australia: Victorian Space Science Education Center (VSSEC)
  • Brazil: Brazilian Space Agency (AEB)
  • Europe: European Space Agency (ESA) - Program on hold
  • Israel: Israel Space Agency (ISA)
  • Jordan: Office of the Crown Prince of Jordan
  • Lithuania: Agency for Science, Innovation and Technology (MITA)
  • Mexico: Mexican Space Agency (AEM)
  • Portugal: Foundation for Science & Technology (FCT)
  • South Africa: South African National Space Agency (SANSA)
  • South Korea: Korea Aerospace Research Institute (KARI)
  • Sweden: Swedish National Space Board (SNSB)
  • Trinidad & Tobago: National Institute of Higher Education, Research, Science & Technology (NIHERST)
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE): UAE Space Agency (UAESA) 

If you are a citizen of one of the countries listed above, and are interested in applying to one of the available research opportunities, please contact the entity in your country currently participating in this program. Contact information can be found below. 

Criteria for application:

  • Must be a citizen of one of the countries listed above;
  • Be currently pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree in science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) in a topic relevant to NASA's mission priorities;
  • Meet a minimum Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.0, or equivalent standard if your university does not use GPA;
  • Have high academic standing and a demonstrated interest in the space program; and,
  • Show proficiency in English.

For Australia: Phillip Spencer phillip.spencer@vssec.vic.edu.au or Danielle Shean danielle.shean@vssec.vic.edu.au

For Brazil: estagio.aea@aeb.gov.br

For Europe: Monica Talevi - Program on hold

For Israel: Itai Levy Itai.ext@most.gov.il

For Jordan: Sanad Haddad shaddad@cpf.jo

For Lithuania: Sigute Stankeviciute sigute.stankeviciute@mita.lt

For Mexico: Carlos Duarte duarte.carlos@aem.gob.mx

For Portugal: Emir.Sirage@fct.pt

For South Africa: Elisa Fraser efraser@sansa.org.za

For South Korea: Su-Hyun Ock shock@kari.re.kr

For Sweden: Perina Stjernlöf Perina.Stjernlof@snsb.se

For Trinidad & Tobago: Lovaan Superville lovaan.superville@niherst.gov.tt

For United Arab Emirates Space Agency: Abir Khater spaceducation@space.gov.ae

Year-long internship applications are accepted at any time.