Development Fund for Black Students in Science and Technology

The Development Fund for Black Students in Science and Technology (DFBSST) is an endowment fund which provides scholarships to African-American undergraduate students enrolled in scientific or technical fields of study at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).

Development Fund for Black Students in Science and Technology Washington, DC, USA
Feb 14, 2018
Scholarship - General
DFBSST  identifies students through the assistance of Engineering and Science Department deans and professors at pre-selected, predominantly Black colleges and universities.  DFBSST  requests the deans and faculty members to identify a specified number of students that they would like to be considered for scholarships, and to pass on  DFBSST  scholarship application forms to these students. Eligibility Criteria To be eligible for scholarships offered by  DFBSST , all applicants must meet the following criteria: African-American, undergraduate student majoring (or intending to major) in a technical field of study (i.e., engineering, math, science, etc.), Be enrolled (or identify his or her intention to enroll) at one of the predominantly Black colleges or universities listed below, and Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. Evaluation Criteria Applicants are evaluated based on the following criteria: Academic achievement (grades and SAT scores, especially science/math), Personal essay describing career goals, current and past relevant extracurricular activities, etc., Recommendations (teachers and guidance counselors), and Financial need. Applicants are first ranked based on consideration of items 1, 2 and 3 above. If two (2) applicants are considered to be equal, the candidate with the greatest financial need is ranked higher. Award Determination The amount of the scholarships awarded each student is determined by the DFBSST Scholarship Committee. Scholarships are based on merit and financial need. Scholarship awards are up to $3,000 per year. Support is renewed annually, for a maximum of four (4) years, as long as the students remains in good academic standing at the same institution, maintains at least a 3.0 in their major, enrolled in a full-time, undergraduate science or engineering curriculum, and submits a renewal application. Obtaining a Scholarship Application Applications can be obtained by contacting the science or engineering department at one of the schools listed below. We do not distribute applications directly to students. All applications must be obtained through and pre-screened by the schools.  There can be no exceptions . Scholarship applications are currently available at the following schools:  Bennett College Morehouse College Clark Atlanta University Morgan State University Elizabeth City State University North Carolina A&T State University Fisk University Prairie View A&M University Florida A&M University Southern University Fort Valley State College Spelman College Hampton University Tennessee State University Howard University Tuskegee University Langston University Wilberforce University Lincoln University (PA) Xavier University of Louisiana Scholarship applications become available April 15th and must be submitted by June 15th . Scholarship recipients will be notified in early September.