Stellenbosch Municipality

Stellenbosch Municipality (officially known as Stellenbosch Local Municipality), is a sector of the South African government. Stellenbosch Municipality is responsible for governing the towns of Stellenbosch, Franschhoek, Pniel and surrounding rural areas within the Western Cape province. The Stellenbosch Municipality falls within the Cape Winelands District Municipality and is bordered by: The City of Cape Town Municipality, Theewaterskloof Municipality, the Breede Valley Municipality and Drakenstein Municipality, Cape Winelands District.

Stellenbosch is the 2nd oldest town in South Africa, founded in 1679 by the previous Governor of the Cape, Simon van der Stel. Stellenbosch is well known for its exquisite wines, fruit, beautiful cultural landscapes and breathtaking scenic quality.