Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality

The Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality, located within the Eastern Cape province of South Africa, was established in 2000 after municipal areas were re-organised. Before it became a metropolitan municipality, it was part of the Amathole District Municipality, before the separation occurred in 2011.

The municipality includes the towns of Bhisho, King William’s Town and East London and the townships of Zwelitsha and Mdantsane.