Passenger Rail Agency of South Africa

The Passenger Rail Agency of South Africa (PRASA) is a Government owned enterprise, responsible for majority of the passenger rail services in SA. PRASA reports to the Minister of Transport and is made up of four branches: Autopax, Intersite, Shosholoza Meyl and Metrorail.

PRASA, founded in the year 1990, provide commuter rail services within South Africa’s Metropolitan areas, as well as bus and rail services within the country. Headquartered in Johannesburg, the company currently employs over 17 000 staff members.