Department of Water and Sanitation

The Department of Water and Sanitation (DWS) was formed in 1912, when it was initially known as the Department of Irrigation. As one of the South African government’s departments, the DWS is responsible for the water resources of the country, particularly for formulating and implementing policies within the sector.

The DWS aim to ensure that South African have access to clean water and sanitation services, as well as water resources management for ensuring sustainable economic and social development in the country.