Alfred Nzo District Municipality

The District Municipality of Alfred Nzo lies on the north-east side of the Eastern Cape Province and is one of the 6 districts within the province. The Alfred Nzo District Municipality and expands from Drakensberg Mountains, to the borders of Lesotho, the Sisonke District Municipality in and O.R. Tambo District Municipality.

The Municipality is named after Alfred Baphethuxolo Nzo, who was a secretary-general of the ANC (African National Congress) and a minister of foreign affairs in Nelson Mandela’s cabinet from 1994 to 1999.